Ninja!

Ninja! – Attempt 3, Part 3

img_2150

Aside : Before I start, I have to mention that on our retreat, we listened to a speech from Russell Mark, Olympic Gold medallist.

He told the story of the 1992 Olympic Skeet shooting.  The competition was mixed, with 56 men and 1 (Chinese) woman.  You know where this story is going, don’t you?

The female competitor, Zhang Shan, won with 223/225 targets.  The real fun is what happened next.  So ashamed of allowing a mere woman to beat them, the relevant committee immediately made sure that the competitors were divided into male and female competitions for the next Olympics.  To prevent direct comparison, they even made sure that the men and women had to shoot a different number of targets!

tumblr_mm1levvrry1qgt6uyo3_400

Yeesh.

Anyway.

When we left our intrepid ninja, he’d just been caught out in his admirable, but ultimately doomed, attempt to impersonate a courtesan.

All my equipment (including shuriken) is taken from me, with the exception of my Obsidian Bracelet.  I get locked in a iron cage (still tied up) and see a monk of the Scarlet Mantis who has also been captured.  He decides to mouth off, noting that I ‘must be’ one of the followers of Kwon he was sent here to stop, and identifying himself as Yaris.   I guess he not so arrogant that he tries to give himself a bad-ass nickname, like Yaris of the Awesome Cage.

Apparently the Daimyo will now force me into single combat for his entertainment. Yaris mentions that his Obsidian Bracelet (now, unbeknownst to him, but knownst to me, which is in my possession) will enable resistance to the ‘control chain’ which is used to force prisoners to fight each other.

He offers to show me another way out of the castle on the condition that I free him. Interesting proposal, but before I answer, I’m dragged off.

I’m brought to a makeshift arena, guarded by four samurai, where I am apparently to be forced to fight Daon (gulp!), who has also been captured.  More importantly, I also note that Aiko is on the viewing platform, disguised as a maidservant.

I’m starting to get reminded of that scene in Return of the Jedi where Luke is about to get thrown into the Sarlacc, but notes that all his friends are around him ready to leap in for the save.

Plus that brings this image to mind –

carrie-fisher-beach3

Straight men, gay women and all bi people – you’re welcome. [edited]

Aiko and I exchange hand signals.  I can either ask her to free the Scarlet Mantis ninja, or to retrieve my stolen equipment.  I might be tempting fate, but I have no confidence that the Scarlet Mantis ninja will keep his word, and I ask her to fetch my equipment.  Hopefully we’ll still be able to work our way out of the castle.

I need to stop Daon killing me until Aiko can return.  I restrict myself to throws, and go with the Dragon’s Tail.

Round 1

We both miss.

Round 2

I throw Daon, meaning he can’t attack this round.

Round 3

I miss.  Daon connects, but I successfully block the blow.

I note Aiko’s return, whip off the ‘control chain’ and quickly slap the Obsidian Bracelet on Daon’s wrist, freeing him from control.

Unfortunately, the return of my ninja tools does no good whatsoever against the apparently endless stream of samurai which dash into the area.

tumblr_nahh7dl6mx1twe13wo1_500

Daon, Aiko and I put on a brave last stand, but the story ends like most last stands….

 

55283481

 

7 thoughts on “Ninja! – Attempt 3, Part 3

  1. Sorry Tim, that’s a cruel way to go. A clue from your previous play through was that you lost your ninja kit once before (against Bofu the Apostate) so that of itself is not fatal to your quest since you can use Aiko’s.
    I did have fun writing it though, coming up with a few ways someone could lose their ninja kit, and knowing it would pain them terribly to go on without it! In that sense, the option in Suma is a trap.
    Best of luck next play through: the only city you haven’t visited is Nagasaki…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, great idea, why don’t we keep having poor Tim trying lots of different options so he can see all the different ways he can be killed. Nasaka is fun though.

      Really sorry Tim, I hoped you’ld get through this time as well. Still, at least you saw that Suma really was something different. … No, that really doesn’t make it better. Cool to see you’re an Arrested Development fan as well.

      “Nice” Olympics story, unfortunately there’s nothing new with corruption and sexism in the Olympics, Spartan women had to fight it also … of course they usually won. I’ll finsh with a Peter Ustinov’s quote “I’m an optimist, unrepentant and militant. After all, in order not to be a fool, an optomist must know what a sad place the world can be. It is only the pessimist who finds this out anew every day.”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sigh on the skeet story.

    Pic comment comment: Bit of bi-erasure there, no? Shame, shame. (Kidding, mostly.)

    And finally keep up the good work and best of luck from a less frequent commenter. I very much appreciate having a new post here to look at (almost) every day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Also it took me a bit to realize you actually died there (which is almost certainly on me). I’m happy for more WotT content, but still, here’s hoping you get to that final paragraph next time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

