Warbringer!

Warbringer! – Attempt 1, Part 10

w1896-imaginext-ninja-and-horse-d-1

Things are really starting to move.  And by ‘things’, I mean I might finally get my backside off the throne and into some fighting gear.

On the fifth day of ‘Grimweird’ (maybe September was copyrighted) my scouts report that Honoric (and, although it remains unsaid, presumably his army) are just south of Mortavalon and are ‘a ten-day’ away.

Just saying that he’s ‘ten days away’ wouldn’t be retro enough, I guess.

The Rift army has split in two, with the smaller force moving to join up with (!!) Honoric’s army, while the larger force (around 10,000) is marching directly upon the city.

I restrain from pointing out the issues with these two forces joining….forces (that sounded better in my head), because hopefully the incompatability of the forces (ha!) will become a plot-point.

My advisers give me the following choices :

  • Glaivas suggests marching north to take on the smaller force immediately before they join with Honoric.
  • Gwyneth suggests staying put in the city, on the basis that the two armies will not be able to co-exist, and that infighting will save me the trouble of having a battle myself.
  • Antocidas recommends attacking the larger force, since victory would reduce the troops needed to guard the city while my general army took on Honoric.

I don’t like the idea of staying put.  Sure, infighting may ensue amongst the army, but the presence of a common foe (me) may well mean that the infighting doesn’t occur until after I’m a crimson smear on my Throne  Room floor.

As contrary as it may be to the depth of my relationship with Glaivas and Gwyneth (my G-force, if you will), I actually think that Antocidas may have the best idea here.  If I can outnumber the (slightly larger) Rift force now, I can hopefully win that battle, meaning that I only need to leave a nominal guard at the city during the final confrontation, rather than having to divide my forces to confront both the Rift army and Honoric’s forces.

However, the scouts from the Rift spy my advancing army and retreat.  I’m not sure if this is a good or bad development, since while I don’t eradicate anyone, it does buy the city some time.  With little other alternative I advance on Honoric’s forces.

I leave the citizen militia to guard the city walls, and lead my army out, reaching the area near Honoric’s army after five days.  We make camp near ‘Beechbridge’ and attempt to ensure that my soldiers are well rested before tomorrow’s battle.

Obviously none of them will be lying awake, shivering, pondering a possible death on the next day due to a war between the two rulers that has nothing to do with them.

Ahem.

Choice!

I can put an eye-patch on (Arrrrr!) to cover the Orb and scout the enemy forces, or save my energy.

Sleep is for wimps!  I’d probably end up brooding and listening to 80s Cure albums anyway.

As I make my way (sneakily) towards the enemy forces, I ponder my readers, who won’t be able to find out what happens until tomorrow.

Aside : Short entry, but family commitments must come first.

Stats: Endurance : 20, Punch Modifier : +2, Kick Modifier: +3, Throw Modifier : 0, Fate Modifier : +1, Inner Force : 4

 

.

One thought on “Warbringer! – Attempt 1, Part 10

  1. I can’t believe you put your family before loyal fans who’ve stuck with you for weeks … actually that explains how you’ve still got family.

    This is getting even more exciting, manouvering of forces etc. Hope family commitments went well and … good luck, you’ll need it.

    Re picture, Gwyenth gave you a magnificent WHITE horse (presumably to set off your black clothes), not a black one (which would just be too goth).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

