Usurper!

Usurper! – Attempt 3, Part 10

dkoeben

Well, I might have killed the Usurper, but obviously conquering a whole city takes more than that.

Symbolically, I leave the crown where it has fallen, at least until I can be proclaimed Overlord.  Mainly because I don’t want to be accused of tempting fate.

I stroll outside the Throne Room and casually garotte an orcish guard, presumably because he was a Belieber.

In accordance with the pre-arranged signal, I yank the cord that brings the Usurper’s flag down.

Now is the moment of truth.  Who has pledged their allegiance to me?

I am pleased to confirm that I have both the support of the ‘common folk’ and also the following of the shieldmaidens of Dama.

The book confirms that Force-Lady Gwyneth marshalls her troops to back my revolution. Without listing verbatim the contents of the book, the battle seems finely balanced until the common people also confirm their support of the revolution, battering the priests of Nemesis and the army of the Usurper with rocks and similiar projectiles.

I confirm that the 100 Samurai didn’t journey through the Valley of the Lich Kings, because what sort of idiot would voluntarily travel through that area?  [Oh, that’s right – I totally did].

The samurai seemingly constitute the last frontier of support for my revolution.  Together with the samurai, the common people and the followers of Dama, my campaign seems destined for success.

Almost as an aside, it is mentioned that “Golspiel’s mercenaries” appear on the scene, although I have the sneaking suspicion that they have only thrown their lot in with me when the battle was already won.  Golspiel, your name is still on the list!

The priests of Time are taking their time [heh] in helping and, indeed, remain inside their temple throughout the battle.

I appear to the general acclamation of the crowd and am, hilariously announced as the new Overlord, “Avenger”.  So apparently, instead of being called, you know, Tom or Joshua, I am literally going by the name ‘Avenger’.

The ‘rose crown’ is placed on my head, which sounds suspiciously like something out of “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”.

The sequel hook is intriguing – apparently I am going to have to make the decisions on actually governing this city.  So now I know where House of Cards got its inspiration!

Final stats : Endurance : 3, Punch Modifier : +2, Kick Modifier: +3, Throw Modifier : 0, Fate Modifier : +1, Inner Force : 0

 

One thought on “Usurper! – Attempt 3, Part 10

  1. When you left Glaivas he wished you wisdom and years, so far Avenger the fifth has caused more damage to the forces of evil than the other 4 Avengers put together.

    It’s true, Usurper and Overlord DID come out before the book House of Cards. I always find the Great Revolt, AKA The Szegad line Restoration, satisfying to read, it’s also fun to read if you don’t have as many allies (Gospiel can be lethal if you have a yellow lotus … flick back a few entries .. ah, you do, keep him on your list …but which list, in Realpolitic money talks). Sorry about being late to say it but congrats and All Hail Overlord Avenger the first.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

