Avenger!

Avenger! Conclusion

514b0wrulzl-_sx311_bo1204203200_

Well, returning to this book was like a well-worn shoe (a ninja shoe!).  I hadn’t touched it for about fifteen years, but all the high-points were still there.  The pirate ship, the gladiatorial arena, the mountain mystic, the undercover minstrel show and, of course, the endgame.

Don’t let my success at this initial try give you the wrong idea about the book’s difficulty. I had the overwhelming advantage of knowledge built up from coming at this book from every angle in my (much) younger days.

In short, many, many other Avengers through the years gave their lives to help the 2016 model make it through without dying once.

Having said all that, on two occasions I was one bad dice roll away from dying.  While trying to clamber up the cliff to meet Togawa, a Fate failure would have meant an extremely messy and bloody patch on the mountainside.  Similiarly, if Yaemon had connected with his first kick, the damage of 10 would have rendered my father unavenged.

But!  The dice rolled my way, and step one of my quest is complete.  Unfortunately, my memory of Book 2 is far more sketchy.  My occasional jokes may stray into morbid humour far more often in days and weeks to come.

 

6 thoughts on “Avenger! Conclusion

  1. Personally I’d say that Picking locks and Detect traps is one of the great skills. It gives many more options, not to mention saving your life on more than one occasion. That said Climbing is a skill I’d love to have, I just keep ending up using my favourite three (well 4) instead. But Climbing would definitely be the fifth. The raid on the Scarlet Mantis monastery and going to meet Togo… The mystic in the mountains are both safer with Climbing and its useful in many more books too. But I love Picking Locks and Detecting Traps. (e.g. if you go underground into QuenchHeart Keep there’s a trapped flagstone that fire’s an arrow at you. Sometimes you also find or can access useful things with it as well. (Don’t want to engage in Spoilers.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. @AussieSmurf Your choices make more sense with a fifteen year gap than a thirty year gap (especially as Inferno came out 28 years ago, and I felt everyone of those years waiting for Redeemer). Have to admit I’m currently replaying the series for the second time in a month with the new books and I died twice in Avenger (which can only be described as extremely embarrasing).

    Have totally enjoyed your trip through the Book 1, really looking forward to your review of Book 2 (and really really looking forward to your reactions to Book 7, imho its going to be worth all the effort to get to it.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. @AussieSmurf Your choices make more sense with a fifteen year gap than a thirty year gap (especially as Inferno came out 28 years ago, and I felt everyone of those years waiting for Redeemer). Have to admit I’m currently replaying the series for the second time in a month with the new books and I died twice in Avenger (which can only be described as extremely embarrasing).

    Have totally enjoyed your trip through the Book 1, really looking forward to your review of Book 2 (and really really looking forward to your reactions to Book 7, imho its going to be worth all the effort to get to it.)

    EDIT Tried posting via Facebook and it didn’t come up so trying again.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The skills choices are difficult. I literally can’t remember Feigning Death or Escapology coming up in Book 1 in any meaningful way. Poison Needles and Arrow Cutting are obvious choices to me, but the other choices can be difficult.

    Like

  5. Have to say, David Walters has actually made largely useless skills useful in Ninja and Redeemer (0 and 7). You don’t HAVE to have them, but if you pick them you have points where you’re glad you got them. Just a sincere plug.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

